Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Ramadan begins Thursday in many Arab, African countries

Thirteen Arab countries and a number of African nations announced that the Islamic holy month of Ramadan will start on Thursday.

Islamic authorities in Tunisia, Sudan, Jordan, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Yemen, Iraq, Bahrain, Oman, Palestine and Lebanon all announced that Wednesday is the last day of the month of Shaaban and that Thursday will mark the beginning of Ramadan.

In Africa, Islamic authorities in Nigeria, Uganda, Chad, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Togo and Ethiopia also announced that Ramadan will begin on Thursday.

During the month of Ramadan, Muslims fast from dawn to sunset. It is a time of self-examination and increased religious devotion.

Throughout the course of the fasting month, Muslims are urged to perform extra prayers, recite the Quran, give to the poor and refrain from misbehavior.

No comments:

Post a Comment

ethnologia news only

Blog Widget by LinkWithin