Friday, July 8, 2016

U.S. approves flights to Havana from 10 American cities, via 8 airlines

The U.S. Department of Transportation on Thursday approved commercial flights to Havana from 10 American cities.

Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx outlined the department's awarding of tentative approval for eight U.S. airlines to begin the flights from 10 U.S. cities this fall.

"Today we take another important step toward delivering on President Obama's promise to re-engage Cuba," he said in a statement. "Restoring regular air service holds tremendous potential to reunite Cuban American families and foster education and opportunities for American businesses of all sizes."

The eight airlines given tentative approval to fly to Havana include American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue, Alaska, Frontier and Spirit.

Last month, the Transportation Department approved a handful of airlines to begin flying to nine Cuban destinations, not including Havana. Two of those airlines, Silver and Sun Country Airlines, did not receive approval for Havana service.

The cities approved for round-trip service are Atlanta, Charlotte, Fort Lauderdale, Houston, Miami, Newark, New York City, Orlando, and Tampa -- plus Los Angeles, the only city on the West Coast on the list.

Washington, D.C., and Chicago are two major American hubs not on the list...

No comments:

Post a Comment

ethnologia news only

Blog Widget by LinkWithin